Check Your Messages…

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve gone to check my cellphone because I thought I heard it ding or felt it vibrate in my bag only to find that I haven’t received any new messages, emails or updates on social media. If the statistics I’ve seen are correct and I fall into the ‘average’ user, I probably check it between 80-150 times per day.

That number really doesn’t surprise me. I communicate with most of my family and friends through texting and the messages I send and receive keep me connected. On days when I forget my phone or even misplace it for a while, I feel emotionally naked and like a social Neanderthal.

Earlier this month, Pope Francis asked some really good questions including: “What would happen if we treated the Bible like we treated our cellphones?”

“What would happen if we turned back when we forget it, if we opened it more times a day, if we read the messages of God contained in the Bible the way we read messages on our cellphones,” he asked before praying with people in St. Peter’s Square earlier this month.

When I thought about it, I realized how much time I spend on my phone and how little time I spend communicating with God. I often catch myself wondering why I can’t hear or see Him in my life. But how could I expect to have a solid personal relationship with God if I didn’t check His ‘messages?’ The pope suggested carrying a Bible or a pocket-sized Gospel at all times so God’s Word could be re-read whenever and wherever.

It’s a great idea, and since we are in Lent, now is the perfect time to start the habit. I think I’ll try reading the Bible more on my phone!

One thought on “Check Your Messages…”

Leave a comment