When Things Are Going Wrong, Go Right

When I was a child, I read a book titled, “Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day.” You can guess what it was about. I feel like there should be a grown-up version of that book because there are days when “adulting” is hard.

 

It could be so many things that add up to major stress in your life—laundry piling up, work deadlines looming, bills overdue, reminiscing over a difficult past, chronic illness in yourself, a child or another loved one; or any other difficult factor. If your life is anything like mine, it may seem like when one bad thing happens…others are sure to follow.

 

In life, there are going to be good and bad days, and sometimes there are going to be those really bad days. There will be moments that knock you down over and over again…

 

When faced with those moments, I like to think we have two choices. We can give in and let defeat take over, or we can turn towards God. Sometimes that means doing the right thing, other times it means finding the “silver lining.”

 

I’ll give you an example from my own life.

 

I got sick a few years back, and if that wasn’t bad enough, I had to give up drinking because of a medication I’m on. It was hard to do so, and sometimes, it’s really hard and I struggle with it. But I try to look on the bright side of the situation. I’m alive. The medication I’m on is helping me and I no longer have to deal with hangovers! When my faith is faltering, it’s harder to fight those urges. When I do struggle, however, and have my faith on fire, I say a little prayer to God and try to remember those good things and it makes it much easier.

 

What do you think? Do you feel like God is there when you have difficulties in your life?

One thought on “When Things Are Going Wrong, Go Right”

  1. I think you can give yourself some credit and add a third choice – turning to your own inner strength to pull you through. I think you should be proud of the battles you have fought and won. Xo

    Like

Leave a Reply

