When Things Seem Too Hard…Keep Going

 

There is this great quote that I have hanging on my wall at home that says, in less refined language: If you’re going through hardships, keep going. The quote is attributed to Winston Churchill. I like it because it reminds me to look at all the different situations other people have survived…and also, past situations that I have survived…and have come out through.

 

It’s a good reminder to keep moving forward even when it looks like there is nowhere to go.  

 

On the news there have been so many severely tragic news stories. It’s heartbreaking, sad, and scary, as well, to say the least. I am praying for everyone involved, and I ask you to pray, too.

 

Sadly, tragedy is unavoidable. Perhaps you have your own personal tragedies happening in your life right now—the death of a loved one, chronic illness, the loss of a job or a home, or the loss of hope for better days because of abuse, addiction or another life-altering event. I’m not an expert in why these things happen. I do believe God doesn’t “make” them happen. I do know that everyone is susceptible to tragedy in their life. I feel like we all have three choices. We can turn to, or away, from God, or stay exactly where we are.

 

That’s why I think it’s important to keep moving forward even when it’s hard. You want to know why? Because that is what I think Jesus did on his way to the Cross. Even though it was hard, he didn’t stop or turn around. He kept going. He knew what was awaiting him was hard, but he had hope for something better. I think he wants us to have that hope for something better, too.

Leave a Reply

