Hoarders—The ‘Mental’ Edition

I’m an emotional hoarder. What I mean by that is I stockpile emotions until the weight of them becomes unbearable to hold and then I burst out in an explosion of whatever emotion I’ve been holding onto. It’s not a good thing to do.

 

I was thinking about this because my father used to have hoarding tendencies. If something were on sale, like soda bottles, he’d buy not one or two, but 10 or more to put in the basement. The same was true for other store bought things like paper towels and napkins, canned goods and the like. It was also true for odds and ends. We used to have additional chairs in our basement that he picked up along the side of the road, hurricane lamps and Christmas decorations galore.

 

I promised myself that I wouldn’t become a hoarder when I became an adult, but, like the cliché goes, the apple doesn’t fall far from the tree! Not only do I have some physical “collections” at my house—from comic books to toys from the 90s to books and more, my mental hoarding is top notch. Need some blue feelings? I have some in abundance? Anxiety? I have that in surplus as well.

 

If you are like me, you probably have some “extra” feelings you don’t really need to carry around with you as well. With summer coming, I feel like now is the perfect time to de-clutter both inside and out.

 

So how do we do that? How can we get rid of the garbage in our head? One way is through prayer. If we let God in, we can let go of some of the negativity we are holding onto. God doesn’t want us to be unhappy or full of anxiety. He says so many times in the Bible. Let’s try to listen to Him.

 

I’ve quoted this before, but it’s so good that I’m going to quote it again. It’s from St. Paul and it says, “Be anxious for nothing, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God. And the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

