A Few Good Moments

We are a few days into the New Year and I have to say, things are going pretty well. Notice I didn’t say perfect or use the dreaded phrase “on track.” Maybe that’s because this year, just like last year, I am not making any resolutions.

 

Yup, that’s right. In my mind, resolutions bring to mind one thing-failure. The big “F” word. It lingers around everything I do in order to bring my resolution to fruition. And, I’ve found, that for me, it’s no way to live.

 

That’s not to say that things in my life don’t need improvement—that list could go on and on. However, I’ve found that looking ahead for the entire year at what I want to achieve takes away some of the beauty of the present moment. And, at least in my case, when I find I am not completely happy with myself at any point in time, I ask myself, what can I do in this minute, this hour, right now, to improve my situation?

 

Sometimes that answer is “nothing.” Other times its “take a walk.” And others still its “take my mind off of myself and focus it on someone else.” Oftentimes, I have to reduce my stress in some way that could involve something as easy (yet hard for me!) as texting and opening up to a friend about what is going on in my life.

 

Focusing on the moment in front of me, instead of the moment ten, twenty or fifty steps in front of me, takes away some of the pressure and stress of having it all figured out. After all, it’s God’s job to have it figured out, not mine. It’s my job to live the best I can, each moment at a time.

One thought on “A Few Good Moments”

Leave a Reply

