Can the Mets Make a Person a Better Believer?

My two older brothers are die-hard Mets fans. One or two of my best friends are also Mets lovers. So it’s no surprise that I’m a Mets fan, too. As I watched each of the four Mets games against the Cubs, however, I have to admit I was holding my breath. I knew they could do it. I wanted them to win. I wanted to believe with all my heart, but there was that one… tiny… seed… of… skepticism.

250px-New_York_Mets.svg

Perhaps I should have known from my love of Norse mythology that Thor (the nickname for Noah Syndergaard—one of the Mets pitchers) wouldn’t let the team be vanquished by their foes.

“Ya gotta believe!” is the rallying cry for the Mets thanks to Tug McGraw. You gotta believe. Those words are so true—in baseball and in life. Was I a believer? When it comes to baseball, the answer is a little easier to answer…but what about in life? What about faith?

It’s easy to show you believe in the Mets. You can wear sports hats and shirts, gloves and coats, and orange and blue, the team colors. You can openly talk about it with friends and family, even when they may like a different team. But faith…that’s not so easy.

St. Francis of Assisi said, “Preach the Gospel, and if necessary, use words.” I think that means that we are supposed to live a life that shows we are believers in Jesus. But honestly, there are times when I am afraid to let my faith guide what I say or do because of fear, skepticism, embarrassment or doubt. I know that is something I have to work on.

Seeing the Mets advance to the World Series lifted my spirit. It made me want to be a better fan. Now I have to figure out how to carry that over into my life so I can use it to help me be a better Catholic.

One thought on “Can the Mets Make a Person a Better Believer?”

Leave a Reply

