‘Best Laid Plans’

There is a quote by the poet Robert Burns that says, “The best laid plans of mice and men often go awry.” Boy, do I know that. Sometimes it feels as if my life is just a accumulation of misadventures and things that have turned out wrong.

Take last night, for example. I was supposed to meet up with a family member to hang out and, I thought, to have dinner. But somehow, the plans got mixed up and fumbled, and instead of meeting me at all, this particular nameless person ended up visiting with someone else, leaving me out completely. I was definitely hurt.

Was it my fault? I thought I had been clear in my communications that I wanted to have dinner and hang out. I was looking forward to it, I told them. As the workday progressed, my excitement grew for the after-hours outing I imagined in my head. But, as is often the case in life, what was imagined was not what occurred.

At first I was full of disappointment and even rage. But then I remembered a phrase from the Bible. “Turn the other cheek.” I had to look up exactly where that phrase came from this morning when I got into work. It’s from Matthew, Chapter 5. That’s the same chapter that has the Beatitudes in it. I don’t think it’s a coincidence.

Also in that reading, it says, “Whoever forces you to go one mile, go with him two.” That gave me comfort. Sometimes, I feel ready to give up on people in my life. But Jesus reminds us that it is our call as Catholics to go the extra mile, literally. So I’ll keep going.

Has anyone ever broken plans on you and hurt your feelings? How did you go about repairing the situation? Did you repair it? Please share as it might help others.

One thought on “‘Best Laid Plans’”

  1. I have done things like this and I cannot express to the person I did it to how extremely sorry that I was so sidetracked. Unfortunately I have done this several times. I had forgotten something important. I guess I need to start writing notes to remember. It is also scary to realize that I did forget and wonder what road my life is heading.

    Nameless

    Like

Leave a Reply

