Work as a Gift

May 1 is the Feast Day of St. Joseph the Worker. When you think about it, it’s a fitting time to celebrate St. Joseph because May is the month dedicated to Mary. It’s as if his day is there at the beginning to support and protect her through the rest of the days. That’s how I like to think about it.

The words support and protection come to my mind whenever I think of my job. It’s easy to see how employment supports and protects each of us—it provides the money to buy what we need to survive and protects us from living a life of poverty.

For me, and maybe for you, too, my employment offers much more than money, and a very different kind of support and protection.

Knowing my own shortcomings and predispositions, I can tell you in a very real way that work protects me from laziness and negative thoughts. Once, during a time in between jobs I was so depressed I didn’t get out of bed more than a few hours a day—and even those few hours were exceedingly difficult. Work protects me from my own mind and keeps me from negative thinking and helps me remain focused on the task in front of me.

I’m thankful for the job I have, and I view it as a gift that’s not to be taken for granted. How about you? On this Feast Day of St. Joseph the Worker, what is it about your job that you enjoy the most? Please share!

One thought on “Work as a Gift”

  1. I agree. Nothing like a period of unemployment to make you appreciate being able to work, even on those days when you feel less than motivated. But I work in an great environment with terrific, fun and super cool people! That is priceless.

    Like

Leave a Reply

