Have I Become a Couch Catholic?

Perhaps its because I’m getting older; or perhaps its because I’m getting stuck in a routine—but lately my prayer life and spiritual life have become almost stagnant. When I leave work, I often have so many ideas for what I want to do with my time. But by the time I arrive home, all I want to do is sit on the couch.

I’ve become a couch Catholic. All my prayers are done sitting on the couch. When I think about God, I’m sitting on the couch. When I’m thinking of others to pray for them, I’m most often sitting on the couch. I think its okay to do these things, but for me, I’ve become so complacent that my prayers have become stale, almost like a passing thought that’s gone before I can even catch hold of it.

Pope Francis said recently, “Whoever does not go on a journey will never know the image of God, will never find the face of God.” It reminds me of what St. Augustine said “My heart is restless until it rests in You.” I think that’s pretty remarkable because when I’m sitting there on my couch I often find that I can’t figure out what I want to do. I’m restless. I can’t make simple decisions because none of them feel “right.” I think it may be God’s way of telling me to pray more, to get more spiritual.

I think one solution could be as simple as going to another part of the room to pray and focus.

I’ve been listening to a song by the band One Republic titled “I lived” about living at the edge of your comfort zone. It’s a good song. I think it’s one to listen to before Lent begins. I know it’s an upbeat song and Lent is not supposed to be a celebration, but stick with me here. Lent is a journey, and it’s one that I hope to experience and really live through this year—and not on my couch.

What are your plans for Lent?

Leave a Reply

