Third Times The Charm?

I have read or heard the parable of the girl Jesus raises from the dead three times in the past few days. I heard it today at Mass, on television from a preacher one night around 1 or 2 a.m., and in a Bible study I do with one of my friends.

If you’re not familiar with the parable, it goes like this: a father goes to find Jesus in a crowd of people to tell him that his only daughter was dying. As soon as he finds Him, however, someone tells him, ‘don’t bother Jesus, you’re daughter is already dead.’ But Jesus says to the father, “Don’t be afraid; just believe, and she will be healed.” Jesus takes his three closest friends with him into the girl’s house and the father and the mother. Everyone else has to wait outside. He tells the girl to wake up, and she does. Jesus tells the three not to tell anyone what had happened.

I’m not a theologian or a preacher. I don’t study the Bible under any sort of authority. But after hearing this story three times, I have to think that there is a lesson in there that I am supposed to learn. So I thought I’d share what I’ve picked up, and I hope that you, readers, will also share any thoughts that you may have on this.

The first thing I noticed was that Jesus took only his three closest friends. Which made me think of my closest friends, and how as I’ve gotten older my circle of friends has gotten smaller, but I’m okay with that because I have quality people in my life. The second thing I noticed is that even though Jesus said not to tell anyone, the story obviously made its way out into the world since we’re reading about it today which means someone spilled the beans. I’m thinking it was one of Jesus’ closest friends, but like I said, I’m not a theologian so I don’t know. I’m sure there’s a lesson there somewhere.

And the last thing I noticed was that Jesus tells the father, “Don’t be afraid; just believe.” That is a life lesson that I know I need to take to heart.

What do you think? Am I missing something? What lesson or thoughts do you take away? Please share.

2 thoughts on “Third Times The Charm?”

  1. Hi there.
    The main comment I would make is that this wasn’t one of Jesus’s parables-it was an account of one of Jesus’s miracles, something He actually did.
    One thing it makes me think of is that He can resurrect anything that needs to be brought back to life in my life.
    Have a good day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

