Learning From My Nephew

On New Years Eve, I was playing a game of cards with my family, mostly with my nieces and nephews. After more than a few rounds, most of the players had wandered off to various corners of couches to settle in for the ball drop in Times Square. There were just a few of us left, so we decided to play a game that was a little harder.

I’ll call this game “liar, liar.” To play, the whole deck of cards is dealt out. In order, each player has to throw down the cards they have for that number.

For example, player one would throw down an Ace. Player 2 would throw down a 2, and so on. If player three has no 3’s, they have to pretend they do and throw down a card. If someone thinks they are lying, they call out “liar, liar.” If caught in a lie, player 3 would have to pick up all the cards in the pile. The aim is to get rid of all your cards.

One of my nephews was so exited to play. Halfway through the game, he burst out, “I can’t lie. That’s a sin! I might as well pick up the cards now,” and he laughed as he picked up the cards in the massive pile.

I cracked up.

In a very simple way, he had reminded me that we all have to play the cards we are dealt. We can try to lie or hide secrets or pretend we are things that we aren’t, but one day, if we do that, someone is going to call us out on it. It’s no way to live. It’s not the way God wants us to live. God wants us to be authentic.

Leave a Reply

