Monday Morning Mentality

As Monday morning started its daily invasion of my bedroom, I promptly hid under my covers in disbelief. I knew that it was Monday and that it was inevitable that it would come back around, but the speed with which it arrived was mind-blowing.

If, as the poem says, “Monday’s child is fair of face,” I was by no way born on a Monday. I squinted my eyes, ran my hands as much as I could through my bedraggled hair, and frowned at the thought of what the day would bring. There was no fair face here. I half moaned, half groaned in anger as I kicked the sheets off of me in protest like an unruly child knowing that as much as I might not want to, in one way or another I would have to face the day.

With my feet finally on the floor, and my coffee in hand, my mood began to slowly improve. I found myself at a minor crossroads—I could go through the day being cranky like I generally do on Mondays, or I could try to make the best of it. Honestly, I’m getting pretty tired of feeling blah and sad on Mondays. I figure, if the day is going to be bad or bring me down later on, I might as well start it off on a good note so I’m not totally defeated by the end of the day.

St. Paul writes in Philippians 4:8, “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, dwell on these things.” He doesn’t tell us to dwell on the negative, but to keep our mind only on the positive things. It’s good advice and I’m going to try to live it, just for today, and see how it goes. Just for one day, and see if it makes a difference.

Do you dread Mondays, or do you look forward to them? Please share!

Leave a Reply

