Where to Wear Emotions

I’m a “wear your heart on your sleeve” type of girl—for the most part. When I’m happy, I laugh; when I’m confused, you can tell; and when I am sad, I cry. But it hasn’t always been that way. In my teenage years, I buried most of my emotions so deep down that you could hardly tell what I was thinking or feeling. This “new” way of living is much better.

Who wants to walk around like a giant vault of secrets everywhere they go? Hiding everything from good to bad deep down inside? It gets tiring, and it’s also very lonely. I had friends, sure, but I had little to offer to them besides a place for them to store their secrets as well. Maybe that made me a good friend, maybe not. While I still keep in touch with some of my high school friends, I’m not particularly close with any of them any more, and that is a sad thing.

Now, however, I try to be honest with myself and those around me. Yes, I think that sharing my feelings is part of being honest. There is a song by the Christian singer Matthew West that I am really into right now. Here are bit of the lyrics:

“I don’t wanna spend my whole life asking;

What if I had given everything;

Instead of going through the motions?

I don’t wanna go through the motions

I don’t wanna go one more day

Without Your all consuming passion inside of me”

He’s talking about feeling God’s passion for life inside of him. I feel like that is true for all feelings. Once you have a real passion for life, all the other emotions will follow. And I for one am not going to keep them hidden anymore. Feelings make us who we are, and that is never a bad thing.

What do you think? Do you have a tendency to hide your feelings or do you show them freely?

2 thoughts on “Where to Wear Emotions”

Leave a Reply

