Not-So Instant Messaging

 

Last night I was IMing with a friend of mine, and after one particular text I heard nothing back. Texting silence. It was awful. I scrolled through our texts and reread the last one I sent to see if perhaps I said something offensive without knowing it. After a few seconds, which felt like an eternity, the panic set in.

 

What had I done? Where was my reply? I knew it was childish to react in such a way, but I didn’t care. My mind raced with all the possibilities of what could have gone wrong. Maybe I text too many times, too fast and too furiously and my friend got annoyed? Or maybe I didn’t pay enough attention to their needs? It could have been a million different things. And I must have played through about a hundred of them in my mind.

 

Then I began to pray. My prayers went something like this, “Please let my friend not be mad at me.” It was a simple prayer, but it was honest and true. Then I remembered something that I had read a while back on patience that helped a lot. It was something I found on a pinterest board that said, “Patience is not the ability to wait, but to keep a good attitude while waiting.” I was worrying so much about what my friend was thinking of me, me, me, that I forgot to think about what he was going through, and that is always a very bad thing. So I turned towards praying for him, and began to feel much better. I changed my prayer to “Please let everything be okay for him and his family.”

 

I think that happens a lot today. People especially in their teens, 20s, 30s and 40s expect the instant reply. And if it doesn’t come, thoughts immediately go to—what did I do wrong, or on occasion, is everything ok? I’m going to try harder in those moments to pray for the person I am texting instead of sending out a million text bombs to their phone.

 

Have you had an experience like mine? How did you handle it?

One thought on “Not-So Instant Messaging”

  1. It’s funny and embarrassing that this is very common to happen in us. Is it just me? No, it’s you too and just about everyone who’s plunged in the world of technology.

    Like

Leave a Reply

