Spreading Emotions Socially

This weekend I read an article that said people are more likely to write about feeling depressed if one of their friends writes about feeling that way on Facebook. On the flip side, if a friend writes about feeling happy, friends are more likely to write about that emotion in their status on Facebook.

The findings totally made sense to me. If you are listening to a friend who is going through a hard time—either online or in person—you are likely to think about the things in your life that are similar as well. I think its how we relate to each other. It also makes me know which friends I want to reach out to. Online especially, it is easy to see who is always posting religious posts, or angry posts, sad posts or happy posts. On any given day, I know who I need to read, or follow.

What am I putting out there? Do I think about what kind of message I am putting out for others? Generally no. If I think of something random, I post it. Oftentimes without thinking about what I am posting.

But we have so much we can do! We can influence people for the good! And bring people closer to God in small ways.

Maybe, like Pope Francis says, I should, like all the Church, “be concerned for, and present in, the world of communication, in order to dialogue with people today and to help them encounter Christ. She needs to be a Church at the side of others, capable of accompanying everyone along the way. The revolution taking place in communications media and in information technologies represents a great and thrilling challenge; may we respond to that challenge with fresh energy and imagination as we seek to share with others the beauty of God.” (Pope Francis’ message on World Communication Day 2014)

What do you think? Do you feel that you lead others to Christ through what you post online?

One thought on “Spreading Emotions Socially”

  1. I can promise you I feel no closer to Christ when a FaceBook friend posts a picture of their dinner.
    Now THAT I am positive about. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

