Writer’s Block and Burnout

You may have noticed that I have not written a post in a while. It isn’t for lack of wanting. Every day I come into work, I look at my computer screen and ponder what I could write about, and every day, the page remains blank. The reason is because I’m going through a period of spiritual burnout.

There are days when this frustrates me to no end, and other days where I realize that I just have to ride the wave and know that “This, too, shall pass.” Of course, it’s easier to tell myself those things than to believe them. Times like this make me question my faith more than when things are going smoothly, and honestly, I appreciate them for what they are, even though they are difficult to go through.

It’s easy to believe in God when things are going well in my life. It’s harder to believe and hold onto hope when I’m feeling down in the dumps. But those are exactly the times when we need to do just that. And not just for us, but for others as well.

There is a quote that I love from 2 Corinthians 1:3-4: “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God.” I love this quote because it shows that with all the troubles we go through, God is teaching us compassion so we can share what we learn with others who may go through the same things. How beautiful is that?

Even though things are tough right now, I’m going to try to push forward so one day I can help someone who is struggling push forward as well. What do you think? Have you had an experience that helped you help someone else? Please share!

2 thoughts on “Writer’s Block and Burnout”

  1. Please push on, your thoughts and ideals help more than you realize. Your words are heart touching and provide a spark of faith to some who need it. There are times when I read your blogs and say, that is how I feel, I wish I could have said it that way. Right now I am staying with someone who has lost a loved one. I told this person I do not talk much but was told just being here is enough. Many times I wish I could open up and say just the right thing but I lack the eloquence. God has blessed you and given you a gift. Like the treasure in the bible story your gift will be found again.

    Like

  2. Big Fan:
    People who say too much when someone else is suffering are far from eloquent. “Just being there” is far more valuable than any words could ever be.
    Ever hear “I know how you feel” when you are going through something terrible? I can’t stand it, because not only is it fundamentally untrue, it changes the focus to that person. — “I know how you feel, let me tell you ALL about what happened to ME.”
    🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

