Singing a New Song

 

There is a great song that’s been out for a while now by the band Avicii called “Wake Me Up.” I love the beat of the song and the lyrics. However, there is one part of the chorus that sounds good, but I don’t know if I would want to live that way. The lyrics say, “Wake me up when it’s all over. When I’m wiser and I’m older.”

 

Sounds like a good deal in some respects, right? To wake up whenever hardships, disappointments, rejections, illnesses and troubles are over? I thought so. At least at first. Then I realized that it is those moments that really form our identities as a person, and I wouldn’t want to give them up, even though they are so difficult to get through.

 

St. Paul talks about this in 2 Corinthians 1:4 when he says, “He comforts us in all our troubles so that we can comfort others. When they are troubled, we will be able to give them the same comfort God has given us.” How beautiful is that? Sure, no one asks for troubles to be given to them, but with them sometimes come great blessings…like personal courage and empathy for others, for example.

 

I’m still going to sing along when this song is played on the radio because I love it, but for me, at least, I’m going to try to be awake through all that life has to offer…good and bad and in between.

 

Has there been a song that you identify with in some way? Please share!

2 thoughts on “Singing a New Song”

  1. This is very insightful. It is so much easier to close your eyes and wait out the rough seas in your life, but you are 100% right, if you do that you are missing out on an opportunity.

    Like

Leave a Reply

