Trying to Believe

Do you ever find a particular Bible verse floating through your head? Today, I’ve had the quote: “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief!” (Mk 9:24) rolling around in my head, always coming back to the front of my mind.

 

I find the quote itself confusing, and have spent a great deal of time thinking about why I would be focusing on this particular saying. I find myself asking a lot of questions from this one sentence…that comes from the mouth of a father whose son is possessed by unclean spirits. He tells Jesus (basically knowing that Jesus can get the spirits out of his child), “Lord, I believe; help my unbelief.”

 

How could he say such two dynamically opposite things?   How can he believe and yet not believe at the same time?

 

But the more I thought about it, the more I realized that this is how my faith goes as well. There are days where I can feel God’s presence in my life so much it’s as if I was wrapped up in it. Then there are other days where God feels so far away it becomes hard to pray, to believe, to have faith. I know that those are the days that I need God the most.

 

I think this is a beautiful prayer to say when faced with doubt or uncertainty in life. It shows that we are human, and that we can both believe in God, and yet, at the same time, feel incredulous or unsure about Him. I know that I do, especially when I feel uncertain about the way my life is going.

 

I hope that when those times do come, this quote comes back to my mind. Have you had a particular Bible verse in your head at any point in your life? Please share. 

One thought on “Trying to Believe”

Leave a Reply

