Reflections on Collections

I like to collect things. I have, for instance, collections of cards of all the baseball team mascots, a collection of different printings and versions of the book “Alice in Wonderland,” and other such things.

 

There is a certain rush of excitement when I find and purchase another item for my collection. It makes me feel like a child again—back when I would collect toys, stickers, comics and trading cards. Right now, I am in the process of collecting stickers for a World Cup album. I love the sound of opening the pack of stickers, and going through them one by one, matching people with their places in the book. It’s a simple joy.

 

But I know that this is not lasting joy. I know that these are just moments in life that bring me happiness but they are not the end-all or be-all of my existence. I don’t live to collect stickers. What I do live for is to possess another kind of happiness—that can only be found in the hope and joy of faith.

 

Sure, faith isn’t something that I can collect and put on my shelf and take out from time to time when I want to look at it. I am not a theologian, but I think that faith is instead something that you build upon as you go through life. And I am pretty sure that faith is the only thing that can fulfill our deepest desires. In “Mere Christianity” C.S. Lewis wrote, “If I find in myself a desire which no experience in this world can satisfy, the most probable explanation is that I was made for another world.”

 

Do you have any collections you are particularly proud of? Please share!

One thought on “Reflections on Collections”

  1. My mother and I collect antique and unusual rosaries. My mother, born in 1928, has collected rosaries throughout her life and our family collection now includes over 900. We have rosaries made of many materials and rosaries with various numbers of beads. All of our rosaries are forms that are approved by the Catholic Church. When we searched libraries to try to learn more about rosary variations, we discovered that there were many wonderful rosary prayer books in print, but no books to explain types such as lasso rosaries, Briggittine rosaries, or Stations of the Cross rosaries. I took a sabbatical from my work at Holy Family University so that we could write our new book, The Rosary Collector’s Guide. It is a 152 page hardcover reference book with 240 color photographs of rosaries in our collection. The Rosary Collector’s Guide is now available and we proudly bring our collection to show church groups, school groups, and community organizations. The book has been a great way to preserve and organize our collection and it enables us to share our collection with others. We are rosarycollector@aol.com

    Like

Leave a Reply

