Seventh-Inning Stretch? Not in Marriage!

 

As any of my closest friends can tell you, I am not good with numbers. So when I woke up this morning, on my husband’s and my seventh anniversary, I thought that we had been married for 8 years. I’ve known him for roughly half of my life, so it wasn’t that much of a stretch to think we had been married for longer.

 

For some reason, when I realized we had been married for 7 years, the 7th inning stretch at baseball games came to mind. I think it is a real accomplishment to last 7 years, especially in the world today, and I know that in marriage, there is no such thing as a “stretch” or a break. I remember back to our wedding day, when we had the popular reading from Corinthians read in Portuguese. Even that day, I didn’t think much of the words of the reading because I had heard them so often, but part of the reading seems to mean more to me today than it did 7 years ago: Love “Always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

 

The part of the reading that really struck me was the part that says that love always perseveres. That’s not just lip service. Now that my husband and I have a few years of experience, I think we both know how hard it is to persevere, especially through hard times. It would be easy at certain times in our marriage to take the easy road out: sickness, money problems, fertility issues, family issues, and other such problems. But, like the reading says, love always has hope and trusts that somehow things will work out.

 

In celebration of our anniversary, I wanted to share this beautiful video of an Irish priest singing an alternate version of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” at a wedding:

 

One thought on “Seventh-Inning Stretch? Not in Marriage!”

Leave a Reply

