What Part Do You Play?

 

If your life were a movie, what kind of movie would it be? And more importantly, what part would you play? I’ve often joked that my life would be a “Made for T.V.” movie, probably for one of the women’s stations.

 

But on a serious note, I am beginning to wonder how I present myself to world, and how I want to be seen. Oftentimes, I believe that I present myself in ways that don’t show the “real” me. I don’t always take the leading role in my life, for example. I allow circumstances and those around me to dictate how I will act. Am I around work people? Then I’ll act a certain way and that way only. Around different groups of friends, even, I often act in very different ways.

 

Which act is the one that is most true?

 

In life that we all play different roles depending on the circumstances, and I think that’s okay to a certain degree. But lately I have been working hard to let the “real” me shine through so I don’t become a one-dimensional stereotype. It’s scary to “be real,” I admit. Sometimes we have to look hard at parts of our lives that aren’t so perfect. For instance, if you are an addict, or an alcoholic, or a victim, those parts and experiences can color everything else.

 

I am trying to remind myself, however, that God loves all of us, not just parts of us. Hopefully that will give me the strength to be me in all situations. 

Leave a Reply

