Questions to God

 

This morning, I read online an article about a little boy who wrote a note to God asking why his favorite team, the Mets, played so bad. The question made me laugh out loud, and also think about why bad things sometimes happen to good teams, players, and people in general.

 

I think that this is a question that we all struggle with—it’s even been the title of a book “Why Do Bad Things Happen to Good People?” I don’t have an answer for this question myself. In my own life, I question why bad things happen when I am trying to be on my best behavior. It also seems, on the other side, good things happen to bad people all the time. Is it God’s fault?

 

Even though I am not a theologian, my first response to that question is no—when bad things happen it’s not God’s fault. C.S. Lewis once wrote in his book, “The Problem of Pain,” “We want not so much a Father but a grandfather in heaven, a God who said of anything we happened to like doing, ‘What does it matter so long as they are contented?” To me, this means that there are rules to be followed, just like in baseball, and sometimes good teams lose. The same holds true for people because almost always bad things don’t make sense to us at all. But like the quote implies, we can’t be happy all the time.

 

What do you think of the little boys question? And how do you resolve to love God when there is so much evil in the world? Please share your thoughts as it might help others. 

2 thoughts on “Questions to God”

  1. We need to remember the good in our lives and appreciate all that we have in our lives that makes us happy. Unfortunately, life has as much negative as it does positive, but it’s what we do with each that matters.

    Like

Leave a Reply

