Book Bondings

 

Yesterday I had my first official book signing at Most Holy Trinity Church in Yonkers after the parish mission featuring the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal.  I learned an important lesson last night at singing about bonding with other Catholics.

 

I didn’t sell a lot of books, but the ones I did sell, I think made it into the right hands.  One thing that has been a blessing about writing this book is that people share their life stories with me.  Sometimes they are sad, sometimes they are happy, but they all have one thing in common—faith in God. 

 

Without getting into too many specifics I learned last night that a reader of one of my books decided to sign up for Bible classes after reading the book; a few readers were looking for something joyful to read; and others were looking for someone who knows what it is like to struggle with the faith, like I do.  I know these things didn’t happen because of me; I know that it is not because I am a great writer or a theologian or anything special—but I am an instrument of God, and I can see His work for the first time through me. 

 

It has been perhaps the one of the greatest blessings in my life.

 

It is something that each one of us can do.  God gave all of us different gifts, and when we use them, great things can happen.  There is a quote from St. Paul’s Letter to the Romans which says, “For as in one body we have many members, and the members do not all have the same function, so we, though many, are one body in Christ, and individually members one of another.” (12:21)

 

Have you used the gifts God has given you?  What was is like for you to experience that? 

Leave a Reply

