The Frustration Factor

 

Do you ever have one of those days where nothing seems to be going your way?  I am having one such day today.  It’s just small things, but sometimes those things add up pretty quickly.  Projects that need to be done for work are being held up; I didn’t sleep well and I am just generally tired and frustrated.

 

I’ve changed my daily prayers from those of thanksgiving to those asking God for favors. 

 

Then I remembered something that Pope Francis said about God:  “He is not a wizard.” I know that my prayers are hollow because I can feel it.  I feel guilty asking God for favors because I know it’s not the way to pray.  He is not there to magically make all of my problems go away. 

 

A day like today reminds me that not everything is in my control.  For example, I can’t will myself to feel more awake.  And those projects that are due for work?  I have to wait until I get all the pieces together before I can finish them.

 

All of these minor frustrations change the way I pray so much that it astonishes me.  When I’m frustrated, instead of leaning in to God and letting him take control, I wallow and dwell on those things that are not going right.  It’s a habit I hope to break. 

 

Do you find that you sometimes pray to God as if he were a wizard or a genie that grants wishes? 

One thought on “The Frustration Factor”

  1. The Serenity Prayer

    God grant me the serenity
    To accept the things I cannot change;
    Courage to change the things I can;
    And wisdom to know the difference.

    Living one day at a time;
    Enjoying one moment at a time;
    Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
    Taking, as He did, this sinful world
    As it is, not as I would have it;
    Trusting that He will make all things right
    If I surrender to His Will;
    So that I may be reasonably happy in this life
    And supremely happy with Him
    Forever and ever in the next.
    Amen!

    Like

Leave a Reply

