Eyes on the Prize

 

During Lent, I try to reflect more on my life and how I am doing as a Catholic.  Am I ready for Jesus to die for me on the Cross? 

 

In all honesty, I’d have to say that the answer is no—at least on most days.  What I mean by that is during this season of reflection and anticipation, I still carry around the garbage that I had before Ash Wednesday.  I still have the same feelings.  Perhaps you are in the same boat; are you carrying around jealousy, rage, self-pity, or any other negative feelings?  I think it’s normal, but then again, God asks us for the supernormal.  He wants us to strive to holiness.

 

On certain days in particular, that seems like a daunting task.  For instance, I am having one of those “I hate the world” kind of days.  It’s the kind of day where everything is off.  I’m sure you have experienced the same thing.  For instance, today I held the door open for an elderly lady, only to have her yell at me for being in her way. 

 

But it’s Lent, and I’m trying to be a better Catholic, so I’m trying to move past those feelings of anger.  I’m trying to keep my eyes on the prize—and the prize is the Resurrection.

 

What do you think?  Do you find yourself trying harder during Lent to be a good Catholic? 

2 thoughts on “Eyes on the Prize”

  1. I think it’s great that you’re trying to become a better Catholic, it’s important to have faith in God even when it’s not easy. For Lent, I’ve decided to give up sweets and alcohol and am going to church every Sunday.

    Like

  2. I try . But I’ve already reneged on a couple of my Lenten resolutions. I haven’t entirely given up on them, however. I just start over. At least I’m conscious of them and working to eliminate bad habits.

    Like

Leave a Reply

