Mainstream Christianity?

 

As I was scanning through radio stations this morning, I came across one where I heard the familiar sounds of a Christian rock song burst forth from the speakers in my car. 

 

A little bit startled, I turned the radio up, and after a few minutes realized that I was listening to a station dedicated to Christian music. 

 

Was I ever surprised.  In the Westchester suburb where I live, it is not often that a rock station comes through, and a Christian rock station—well, that has never happened in my experience before. 

 

I began to wonder if Christianity had hit the mainstream.  I generally think of myself as a self-proclaimed “Jesus freak” because it is sort of an anomaly around my friends and some of my family. But this station (which is on an FM station) reminded me very quickly that I am not alone in my love for Jesus.

 

The station covers New York City and Port Chester, and is named K-LOVE. Although I just found it, it has become my favorite radio station already.  I hope it sticks around for a while. 

3 thoughts on “Mainstream Christianity?”

  1. Hi Julie! You probably don’t remember me, but my name is Darlene and I’m the reporter from the Diocese of Honolulu Catholic newspaper. I met you a while back at the “Soul Surfer” movie premiere in Manhattan.
    I’ve been following your blog and wanted to comment on this post! K-LOVE is a great station. My friend in San Antonio, Texas, told me about it, and I happened to find it here in Hawaii as well. K-LOVE’s music helped both of us get through some tough times.
    Take care, and keep up all the terrific blogging that you do. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

