Syrup on Shrove Tuesday? Yes!

 

When my co-worker came in this morning, he excitedly asked me if I had eaten pancakes for breakfast.  I thought it was an odd question until he told me, “It’s Pancake Day!”

 

For a second I thought he was kidding, but a quick Google search showed that Shrove Tuesday, also known as Mardi Gras, is in some places called Pancake Day.

 

As a pancake lover myself, I was thrilled to hear the news. The tradition started as a way for people to use up all of the foods that they couldn’t eat during Lent—like butter, milk and eggs, for example. The tradition is popular in places such as England and Canada, among others.

 

I was also excited to hear this news because I plan on giving up pancakes for Lent.  I love pancakes and eat them on a weekly basis.  Finding out today is pancake day just gives me an excuse to indulge in them one last time before Easter. 

 

What are you doing for Lent?  Have you heard of Pancake Day? 

 

3 thoughts on “Syrup on Shrove Tuesday? Yes!”

  1. I found a cute recipe for pancakes. Mix the batter and bake the pancakes in a mini-muffin pan. Warm the syrup and eat without silverware, just dip the mini-muffin pancakes in the warm syrup.

    Like

Leave a Reply

