God Doesn’t Move Away, We Do

 

I was having a conversation with one of my best friends the other day about the role of God in my life.  I told this friend, “I’ve moved far away from God.”  Along my own spiritual journey I have learned that if I don’t feel close to God, it’s on me, because God is always there.  Which means I have quite a bit of work to do in my life.

 

For various reasons that range from the winter blues to trouble with the family to not focusing on the present moment, I have found that it’s harder for me to feel God’s presence when I pray.  It’s not a great place to be.  But what can I do about it? 

 

Someone once told me to “Fake it until you make it.”  I wonder if this applies to prayer life as well.  Do I keep praying even though I don’t feel anything?  Should I try a different form of praying?  I have a lot of questions on my mind about what I can do to bring myself closer to God, especially because Lent is just a few short days away.

 

What do you do when you feel like you are lacking in your spiritual life?  Please share any strategies you may have.  And thank you in advance for doing so. 

3 thoughts on “God Doesn’t Move Away, We Do”

  1. Blessed Pope John Paul II put it a little differently. He said, “When it is difficult to pray, the most important thing is not to stop praying.” I just discovered your blog through the Catholic Professionals group on LinkedIn and look forward to continuing to follow you (even if I am an “oldster”).

    Like

  2. I decided about a month ago to pray the Rosary every day. I miss a day here and there, but I’ve established the intention of making this my daily duty, whether I feel like it or not. On the days when I don’t feel close to God, I find the Rosary to be especially wonderful because the form is there for me to follow — I don’t have to try to make myself feel anything or come up with the right words — I just say, “God, I’m doing this because I want to be close to you,” and as I recite the words, meditate on the life of Jesus, and ask for Mary’s intercession my heart is usually calmed and set straight. I’ve also found Eucharistic Adoration to be amazingly powerful in bringing me back to Christ and helping me to submit to God’s will.

    Like

Leave a Reply

