When Things Need a Little Work

 

At work yesterday, I came back from a meeting with my editor to see that there was a box sitting on my desk.  I knew at once that it was flowers of some kind from the label.  However, when I excitedly opened the box, what I saw was a bonsai tree that was almost completely dead.

 

At first, I was shocked.  Why would my husband send me a dead plant?!  It turns out that he had meant for it to be sent to me on Valentine’s Day but for some reason the delivery was held up.  There were a few springs of green, but mostly the little tree was brown and wilted.

Image

 

My co-workers and I have adopted the plant as a special Lenten project and hope to resurrect it.  The package is a good metaphor for life.  For instance, yesterday when the sun first came out I was sure that it was going to be a good day, but after an incident with a friend that left me in tears, my day was pretty much ruined. Sometimes the unexpected comes, and it isn’t always good.

 

But that doesn’t mean that there is no hope. 

 

My friend and I were able to patch things up quickly and move forward. In some cases, like illnesses, trying to find a job, or addictions, a quick resolution is not possible.  But like the little tree, there is always a chance for things to improve in time. 

2 thoughts on “When Things Need a Little Work”

Leave a Reply

