Living Out the Lord’s Prayer

For a long time, I was unable to pray all the words of the Our Father, also known as the Lord’s Prayer because I felt like a hypocrite doing so.  During Mass, when it came time to say “Forgive us our sins as we forgive those who trespass against us” I would stop and silently pray instead for the day when I could say those words out loud.

 

Forgiveness is a hard thing.  I know because for a long time I was unable to grasp the concept of what it means to really forgive someone.  After a huge falling out within my family, I stopped speaking to many members of my immediate family.  It was perhaps one of the hardest times of my life. 

 

I could not forget what they had said and done to cause me to break away from them and I thought that since that was the case, I likewise could not forgive them.  Perhaps you are in a similar situation in which a family member has said or done something that is so hurtful to you that you cannot imagine repairing the relationship.

 

I thought that was the case in my situation.  But a good friend of mine told me that “All things are possible with God” and to keep my heart and soul open to the possibilities.  I am still working on forgiveness and praying every day for the possibility of repair. I know it will be a slow process, but I also know that God will be with me throughout it. 

 

Do you think you have to “forgive and forget?”  Did your faith help you forgive someone in the past?  Please share, as it might help other readers. 

3 thoughts on “Living Out the Lord’s Prayer”

  1. This is a very powerful post. Forgiveness is both one of the foundations of our faith and also one of the hardest aspects to understand and follow. One of the first things I remember learning about in CCD is the importance of forgiveness. Jesus died on the cross for our sins to be forgiven so that we can enter heaven. When we pray “Our Father” we ask for forgiveness as we forgive those that “trespass against us”. But the question that I struggle with is how do we forgive those that trespass against us, when those are not willing, able or even aware of the hurt they have caused or do believe they themselves need to seek forgiveness because they feel they have done no wrong, or even if they know they have caused hurt do not believe they need to ask for forgiveness. How do we forgive someone that is unwilling to ask for forgiveness but instead wish that you simply forgive arbitrarily and forget. Forgiving others for their trespasses is a powerful and spiritual gift, but how do we overcome our own desire to show others that for true forgiveness they need to desire forgiveness. When we go to confession we are taught that we must acknowledge our sins and desire forgiveness.

    How do we overcome our own faults and find the strength to forgive others that do not desire forgiveness or acknowledge that they need your forgiveness?

    Like

  2. Coming to mind is the story of St. Peter who was told by Jesus that he would deny him three times. St Peter couldn’t believe what Jesus was telling him. But he did deny him. He spoke without thinking, three times. Speaking without thinking is a common hurtful action. I know I have hurt people and like Peter I have wept bitterly, so sorry and unable to take back what was said. I can only pray and hope for forgiveness for those I have hurt.

    Like

Leave a Reply

