New Year, New Beginnings

“Remember not former things, neither consider the things of old” (2 Corinthians 5:17). That quote feels like the perfect quote for New Years.  I am not one for making resolutions, but reminding ourselves to begin anew in 2014 is something that I hope to take to heart.

 

With New Years, there is such an emphasis on making ourselves better by giving things up or doing things differently but I think that this quote from St. Paul’s Letter to the Corinthians gets to the heart of the matter—first we have to change our thinking.  It’s not so much about the losing weight, or stopping to smoke, or changing other aspects about ourselves, even though that is what all the commercials and advertisements would have us believe. 

 

I know that personally, I remember the past with fondness, and try sometimes too hard to make the present like the past.  Thoughts such as “I used to weigh less,” or “I used to be closer to this person,” or even “I used to do more around the house, at work, etc.”  But all those thoughts have me stuck in the past and not living in the present. 

 

It’s a bad place to be.  St. Paul has it right.  Oftentimes it is said at New Years, “Out with the old, and in with the new.”  The only way we can start a new beginning is by letting go of the old. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

