Mary, Our Mother

Today is the Feast of the Presentation of Mary so I thought it would be fitting to share something I learned about Mary from the Catholicism series by Father Robert Barron.  I watched the series over the weekend, and found out so many things that I didn’t know about the Catholic faith.  If you haven’t seen the series, I highly recommend it.

But one of the things I learned about Mary has to do with the wedding at Cana.  I knew that Mary’s words to the servants to “Do whatever He tells you” (John 2:5), is the first time in the Bible that we see Jesus perform a miracle—of turning water into wine.  What I didn’t know, however, is that these are the last recorded words of Mary in the Bible.

When I heard that, I thought about how beautiful that really is.  Not only was it the first time we see Jesus perform a miracle, but it is almost as if those words of Mary were meant to stay with all of us as Catholics.  Just like a good mother, she is giving us a way to live by telling us to listen to Jesus. Those words really stood out to me and held a whole new meaning for my life when I thought about it more.  I am not a theologian, but I felt like those words of hers remind us to live an active Catholic life.  We are not only to listen to Jesus, but to do what he says as well.

Listen to Jesus, our mother tells us.

I am going to try my best to take to her advice.

 

Below is a clip of Catholicism by Father Robert Barron, creator and host of the series.

2 thoughts on “Mary, Our Mother”

  1. Even without saying anything Mary is a strong female figure to follow. She endured everything a woman could possibly endure in life.She choose life to carry Jesus while she was unwed. She had to leave family and friends to move to a strange land with her husband. She lost her child in a crowd. She saw Him leave her to do his ministry. She saw her child being lauded and then jeered at. At Jesus request she accepted another as her son. With a broken heart she stood by her son as he choose to die for us for our sins. Mary is with us through it all.

    Like

Leave a Reply

