A Short Message That Said it All

A while ago, when I was going through a very rough patch in my life, I met a priest who helped me to see that God is present in all circumstances, and that there is always hope.

I wrote to this priest this week because I remembered what he said and how much they stuck in my mind during that difficult time.  I told him that I had found my hope again after a long journey, which I have in many ways shared on this blog.  He called me back and left a simple message on my voice mail.  He said, “Things are going well, but they can always get better.”

His words again struck me as so very true.  There is always room for improvement.  There is always hope for better things to come.  A lot of times when I am going through difficulties, I say that I just want to “make it through the day.”  But this lovely priest reminded me that we are called to do more than just “survive.”

God wants us happy.  He wants things that are better for us than even we can imagine.

Has there been a person in your life who helped you through a tough time?  If so, why not reach out to them if you haven’t already?

Leave a Reply

