Sunsets and Sharing

Yesterday, just around the time I was getting ready to leave work, a co-worker of mine pointed out how beautiful the sunset was over the Manhattan skyline view from our window.  It really was spectacular, with colors of reds, and pinks and purples shining with the buildings of New York City in the background.  I immediately took a picture of it so I could remember.

I sent the picture to a few of my friends.  As I did, I realized how much I want to share with them the beautiful and amazing things I see in the world.  The coincidental thing is, one of those friends sent me a picture at the same time of the sunset up by her.  The moment made me feel so close to her, even though we were not together in the physical sense.

photo

In the past, I would say that I was more of a closet Catholic. What I mean by that is, whenever something faith-filled would happen, out of shyness, I would keep it to myself.  As I’ve grown older and stronger in my faith, however, I have started to open up to my friends more about the amazing and beautiful aspects of my faith.

St. Paul’s Letter to the Philippians speaks about focusing on the good: “Finally, brethren, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is right, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is of good repute, if there is any excellence and if anything worthy of praise, let your mind dwell on these things.”

The same feeling of wanting to share something beautiful and lovely with those close to me also makes me want to share my faith with others.

What are your thoughts?

Leave a Reply

