Pondering the Pope on Twitter

Each day, Pope Francis puts out a tweet from @pontifex.  I am a follower of the Twitter feed for him, and one of the tweets from earlier this week has still remained in my mind.  I’m still trying to figure out what it could mean for my life.

 

The tweet, which was from Oct. 19, was this: “To follow Jesus means putting him first, and stripping ourselves of all the things that oppress our hearts.”  The concept of this message seemed pretty clear to me: put God first and other things second.  But the more I thought about it, the more I realized how extremely difficult this is to put into practice.

 

I began to think of all the things that keep me from Jesus—from material things like television and video games; to feelings like despair and anger; all the way to even seemingly good things like work and family.  It made me ask myself a lot of questions.  Do I put Jesus first when I am making decisions at work, or regarding my family, or am I putting my needs first?  Am I spending too much time with activities other than prayer?  Do any feelings I hold in my heart, especially feelings like anger, keep me from loving Jesus, and others, the way I should?

 

I don’t have answers for all of these questions because, honestly, my answers change on a daily basis.  The tweet from the pope reminded me that we have to follow Jesus and say “yes” to him every moment of every day.  It’s a tall order, but striving for those “yeses” is worth it.

 

What do you think?  Are there things that keep you from Jesus? 

Leave a Reply

