Connecting to a Purpose

“I have a mission; I may never know it in this life, but I shall be told it in the next. I am a link in a chain, a bond of connection between persons; He has not created me for naught.” This quote by Blessed John Henry Newman is just another quote that I have found this week on the idea of having a purpose in life.

 

I, like many young adults, often struggle with my identity and my larger purpose in life.  This quote reminds me, and I hope that it strikes a chord with you, too, that God has a purpose for us all.  It’s a good reminder that we are all special and unique with gifts that God has given us to use in our lives. 

 

After I read this quote, I read a little bit about John Henry Newman and found out that he was a 19th century theologian who was born in London and studied at Oxford.  He wasn’t always a Catholic; he was a convert to the faith. 

 

When I read about him studying at Oxford, I was reminded of a picture I had taken while I was a student there of a bridge.  For me bridges symbolize connection—and the literal bridging of a gap.  I thought that I would post this photo of the famous Hertford Bridge (also known as the Bridge of Sighs) because it reminds me that often we have to cross a few bridges in our lives to get to where we need to go. 

Image

 

One thought on “Connecting to a Purpose”

Leave a Reply

