Dream the Impossible

“Start by doing what is necessary; then do what’s possible; and suddenly you are doing the impossible.”  This quote from St. Francis is one of my favorite quotes of all times because it hints at two things that are very close to my heart: that progress takes time and patience; and nothing is impossible with God.

 

On the Feast Day of St. Francis of Assisi, I thought that I would share this quote with you all.  It’s a good prescription for life.  In some ways, it reminds me of the comedy movie “What About Bob,” in which a psychiatric patient is treated by his psychiatrist through “baby steps.”  That is what the above quote seems like to me:  Start small, and keep moving forward, and before you know it, you will be doing things that you never thought you could do. 

 

Let me share with you an example from my own life on how this method has worked for me.  Many years ago, I was diagnosed with a stomach condition that made it impossible for me to eat many foods.  Because of this, I thought that I would never be able to enjoy another outing with my friends or family.  The thought of family parties, or even lunch dates, filled me with anxiety and stress. But, over time, I went from being embarrassed by my condition to accepting it.  I started small, by going out with friends for coffee; then for lunch (even though my lunch orders are complex to say the least); until these outings no longer caused me any stress or anxiety.  In a very real way, I was doing something that at one time I thought was impossible—having a good time with friends and family centered around meals.

 

Sure, at first it was necessary for me to accept my condition and come to terms with it, that was a hard first step, but, like St. Francis says, if we start with what is necessary, we can move on to bigger and better things.

 

Has there been an experience like this in your life, where you went from thinking something was impossible, to suddenly reaching your dreams or goals?  Please share as it may help other readers who are struggling right now.

2 thoughts on “Dream the Impossible”

  1. Put one foot in front of the other… and don’t look back. Struggles may seem hard, but when happiness is achieved, it’s all worth it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

