Little Ways, Big Changes

Today is the feast day for one of my favorite saints, St. Therese of Lisieux.  I’ve quoted her quite a bit over the course of writing this blog, and never tire of doing so.  She is known for her “little ways,” or doing small things with great love.  Today, as I was rereading some quotes by her, I came upon one that speaks to me in my life right now.

 

The quote is on the present, the here and now, and it is a way to live that can bring big changes to life, even though it may seem like a small thing.  St. Therese wrote, “If I did not simply live from one moment to another, it would be impossible for me to be patient, but I only look at the present, I forget the past, and I take good care not to forestall the future.”

 

It is a fault of mine that I often get overwhelmed with thinking of the past or the future, and not focusing on the present.  This only creates discord in my life and turmoil in my heart and soul.  St. Therese is reminding us that living simply in the moment is in a way a blessing, and a great way to live.

 

Just to use an example from my own life: sometimes I ruminate about mistakes of the past so much so that I forget to focus on the truly important things that are happening in my life right now.  This can make me miss deadlines for work, not pay attention to my friends and my family that are in my life right now, and basically stall any sort of growth—especially in relationships and emotionally and spiritually.

 

Likewise, it is sometimes its difficult to stay in the moment, especially when the present seems to be filled with turmoil, discord or chaos, but even then, God is with us.  Even when there seems to be darkness around, He is a source of light that we can focus on and live simply—for Him. 

 

One thought on “Little Ways, Big Changes”

  1. The secret of health for both mind and body is not to mourn for the past, not to worry about the future, or not to anticipate troubles, but to live in the present moment wisely and earnestly. ~Buddha

    Like

Leave a Reply

