Believe in Possibilities

 

There is a great line in the book “Alice in Wonderland” where Alice says, “I’ve sometimes believed in as many as six impossible things before breakfast.”  I love that line because it highlights how there is so much potential in each and every day.

 

When it comes to faith, that statement hits home for me even more.  One of my friends continued to tell me as I went through a very difficult period in my life that “Nothing is impossible for God.”  The sentiment for both is the same.

 

As Catholics, we are a people of hope, and nothing says hope for me more than being open to possibility. Whether we are turning to God to help us through difficulties such as searching for a new job, fighting an illness or addiction, or even something as simple as starting a new day.  With each endeavor in our lives, big and small, there is the potential for great things.  When it comes to faith, I would even use the word extraordinary.  God can turn bad days into good ones, sad moments into times of blessings, and all we have to do is turn to Him and ask for his help and be open to the possibility.

 

Let me share just one example from my own life with you. This past Saturday was the ninth anniversary of my father’s death.  For some reason, that anniversary was especially hard for me. I didn’t know how I would be able to function at all that day.  But I prayed to God, and asked him for help, and I believe that he gave me that help through the friends and family in my life who helped me to remember my father during the happier days in his life, and not only when he was ill.  That small change meant a world of difference to me, and allowed me to celebrate my father’s life, and not dwell on his death. 

 

Are there any examples in your own life where God has turned something around for you?  Please share as it may help other readers.

 

One thought on “Believe in Possibilities”

  1. “When God closes one door, He opens a window……” everyday is a new journey that we should embrace with an open mind and an open heart.

    Like

Leave a Reply

