All Work and No Prayer

 

This week has been particularly busy at work, and I have found that because of that, my prayer practices have fallen by the wayside.  It’s not a good place to be.  Instead of leaning into God like I should be when things get harried, I’ve tried to do things on my own. 

 

That is, until I realized what I was doing.  Today, when I felt overwhelmed with work, instead of falling into the trap of trying to get out of the stress by myself, I opened up my heart to God and meditated for a moment.  I found that after I did that, the day didn’t seem so insurmountable because I knew that with God by my side, I could get through. 

 

That short moment of prayer filled me with a peace that lasted through the rest of the day, and allowed me to focus on the tasks that I had to accomplish.  Earlier in the day, as I struggled on my own, I only found myself getting angry, anxious and frustrated.  I knew that it was not the way I wanted to spend my day. 

 

At home I have been compiling a collection of positive quotes, which I am pasting to my wall with post-its as a source of daily inspiration.  One of them came to my mind today, a quote from C.S. Lewis, which said, “There are two kinds of people: those who say to God, ‘Thy will be done,’ and those to whom God says, ‘All right, then, have it your way.’” I have found that when I try to go my own way alone, without God’s help, I get lost and overwhelmed.  But with Him, the way becomes clearer. 

 

 

 

One thought on “All Work and No Prayer”

Leave a Reply

