Where is the Pause Button?

 

Today is one of those days that is moving by at a fast and furious pace.  There is a lot of work to be done, and only so many hours in the day to do it all.  If my life were a movie, right about now is where I would hit the pause button to take a breather.  Unfortunately, there are no pause buttons in life.

 

But even amid the frenzy of a busy day, there is one thing that always centers and calms me—saying a quick prayer.  Sometimes the prayer is a simple plea for help, like “Help me, Jesus.”  Other times, it’s a bit longer as I try to read the Serenity Prayer I have taped to the wall of my cube.  Today is definitely a “Help me, Jesus” kind of day. 

 

I know that Jesus would want us to take a break to center ourselves.  Small breaks throughout the day, even if its just for a minute or two, can help us regain our focus and go back to work doing the best job that we can do. 

 

Sometimes there is so much going on in life that we forget to take those needed breaks.  But they are needed for mental, and spiritual, health. 

 

Today, I hope that you all take a moment to just breathe, and maybe say a little prayer of your own, too.  If you can’t think of one, you can steal mine!

Leave a Reply

