Spiritual Jump-Start

Last night, I felt that I could use a bit of a “spiritual jump-start” for my soul.  So I cranked up some Christian rock music, got out one of my favorite prayer books, and got to praying.  I hadn’t really been doing a lot of regularly scheduled things for my spirit in some time.  The practice reminded me how good it feels to spend some time with the Lord.

There was one song in particular that spoke to my heart—it’s called “Blessed Be Your Name.”  I know that “Christian rock” isn’t for everyone, but it is a type of music I thoroughly enjoy.  I remember a teacher of mine from elementary school telling us that singing is like praying twice, and that’s what Christian rock seems like for me, especially when I try to belt out a few of the lyrics myself.

The lyrics that really stood out to me were:

“Every blessing You pour out

I’ll turn back to praise

When the darkness closes in, Lord

Still I will say

Blessed be the name of the Lord

Blessed be Your name

Blessed be the name of the Lord

Blessed be Your glorious name

Blessed be Your name

When the sun’s shining down on me

When the world’s ‘all as it should be’

Blessed be Your name”

 

 

I think they made such an impression because it reminded me that God is to be praised when things are going great, as well as when things are not so good.  In all cases, He is there with us.  He never abandons us, and the song reinforced that for me last night.

Earlier this week, I asked you to share your favorite “non-religious” song.  Do any of you  have “religious” songs that you would like to share?

Leave a Reply

