Music and Faith

This morning, as I was sitting outside the building at the Catholic Center in Manhattan, I was listening to music on my iPhone.  With my headphones in, I let the music shuffle through all the bands that I have saved in my music library.

 I was surprised at how many of the “non-religious” bands that I listen to have words that help me with my faith with their lyrics.  One band in particular comes to mind, Mumford and Sons, and specifically their song, “Below My Feet.”  I don’t think of this band as a religious band—I have plenty of “Jesus music” and this would not fall into that category.  It’s more of a folk and rock band, I’d say. 

 But the words to the song that really sparked my interest this morning and woke up something in my soul were “Let me learn from where I have been; Keep my eyes to serve, my hands to learn.” The first part, about learning from where I have been are especially moving to me because over the past several months, I feel as if I have made a lot of growth in certain areas of my life, especially spiritually and mentally.

The lyrics also brought to my mind the thought that our eyes are the windows to our soul, and to keep my eyes to serve reminded me that we should always be ready to serve.

 It’s a beautiful song, and one of my favorites. 

 Are there any songs that bring to mind your faith, even though the songs themselves may not be “religious?”  Please share what song, and why. 

4 thoughts on “Music and Faith”

  1. I’ve alway found Bruce Springsteen songs had a big faith element in them and specifically Catholic references. Faith generally is a big element of Springsteen’s music

    Like

Leave a Reply

