Taking Twitter to Heart

 

Perhaps it’s a case of summer fever, but I have not been so happy to reach a Friday in quite some time.  This was a week full of good news, hard work, and, honestly, a little bit of burnout. 

 

Let’s start with the good news—Catholic New York won nine awards in journalism competitions at the Catholic Media Conference.  It made the workweek even more enjoyable as there was a spirit of camaraderie and happiness in the office.  At the beginning of the week, especially, I had extra pep in my step as I did my daily tasks for my job. 

 

On the other hand, this had been an exceptionally busy week work-wise, as well as on the home front, with many things that had to be finished: assignments and articles, laundry, cleaning, shopping, etc.  In other words, the typical things of life.  However, as the week went on, I began to feel my spirit start to drag, and just when I was leaving work yesterday, it hit: burnout.

 

I had run too far and too fast, and my spirit just couldn’t keep up.  Thankfully, I follow many great feeds on Twitter, including those that present Catholic quotes and scriptural passages.  Those small 140-character messages kept me going when I thought I couldn’t any longer. 

 

Here are just some of the Twitter messages I saw this week from some of the people and organizations I follow: @GODs_Graces, “Make decisions based on what you know rather than what you feel.” @TopBibleVerses, “When praying, “be alert and always persist” – Ephesians 6:18.” @BenedictineSis, “Who can hide in secret places so that I cannot see them? Says the Lord. “Do I not fill heaven and earth?” And lastly, but not least, @ArmorOGod, “You can’t change what has already happened so choose to look ahead instead of behind you.”

 

There were so many more, but these were some of my favorites because they reminded me to keep praying, make good decisions, don’t hide from the challenges of life, and always look ahead. 

 

Do you have any favorite quotes that help you?  Please share!  Other readers may find inspiration in them as well! 

2 thoughts on “Taking Twitter to Heart”

    1. That is a very strong, but also inspiring quote.
      For those who do not have their Bibles in front of them, the quote, and I’d like to add Thessalonians 1:7 to it as well, is this:
      “God will do what is right; he will bring suffering on those who make you suffer, and he will give relief to you who suffer and to us as well.”
      Thank you for sharing this with everyone.

      Like

Leave a Reply

