Letting Go, And Letting God

During a conversation with a person that is like a mentor to me, I asked a question that has long been on my mind: “How do we know we are being who God wants us to be?”  The answer he gave me was simple, yet so profound, and made such a different in my perception of life that I thought I would share what he said. 

I admit that he is not a theologian, but he told me honestly that for him, the answer is to “Love God, love your neighbor, and love yourself.” To do that, we sometimes have to let go of control of situations of which we really have no control over in the first place and give them over to God.  For example, if we are struggling with work or family with a particular problem, we have to give that problem over to God and learn to accept that God will work on those struggles and give us a solution in His own time. 

That is the “loving God” part of the solution.  The other half, he said, was to focus on people in our lives who are there for us, and who love us, and who we should love back; and lastly we have to learn to accept ourselves for who we are right now. 

His words reminded me of the serenity prayer that they recite in Alcoholics Anonymous meetings:  “God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change; courage to change the things I can; and wisdom to know the difference.”

 Image

Today, my goal is to focus on God first, and then try to be there for people who have been there for me and accept my life for how it is right now. 

Have you ever received any advice or wisdom from someone who helped you change your life?  Please share as it might help other readers. 

Leave a Reply

