Forgetting the Day, But Forging Ahead

Have you ever had one of those days where hours go by in a complete blur?  Yesterday, I had that kind of experience to the extreme, even forgetting what day of the week it was until mid-afternoon.

Since I had work to finish, I had to work very hard to get everything done.  It was a stressful afternoon, to say the least.  In addition to forgetting what day it was, I lost more than a few moments in a blanked out haze.  It happens to all of us sometimes.  When I looked up at the clock, I wondered where all the time had gone.

I was able to talk with a good friend of mine to vent and decompress, and get my mind back into the day.  It was just the type of break I needed.

In other words, it was a small blessing in a busy and stressful day.  Sometimes I take for granted how much my friends are necessary in my life.  There are the friends that I spend my weekends with, my friends at work, my spiritual friendships, and those people who email me each day to let me know they are there and care for me.

I was able to forge ahead with the rest of the day because I knew that I had a friend to lean on. There is a quote by C.S. Lewis that says, “Friendship is unnecessary, like philosophy, like art… It has no survival value; rather it is one of those things that give value to survival.” Yesterday, that was the case for me, and that friendship definitely helped me survive.

Do you know any good quotes on friendship, from books, movies, or songs?  Please share.  Or if you have had an experience with a friend helping you through a hard time, and want to share, please do so, as it may help other readers.

2 thoughts on “Forgetting the Day, But Forging Ahead”

Leave a Reply

