Spiritual Friendships, Books and Blessings

“Some things come to life only when shared.”  That is a line from a book I am reading on spiritual friendship that speaks to a truth that I feel in my heart.  That line hooked me when I read it a few days ago, and still has me thinking of it now.
The book that I’m reading is “Love and Salt: A Spiritual Friendship Shared in Letters” by Amy Andrews and Jessica Mesman Griffith.  In the book, the two friends, one a sponsor for the other for Confirmation, tells of their different, yet very similar faith journeys.  They both write letters nearly daily, and always with honesty.
Reading the book made me realize how special it is to have spiritual friendships in your life.  I’ve been blessed with friendship of that kind, and it helps me to stay on track every time I lose my way on my faith journey.  It’s the kind of friendship that I hope all of you, readers, get to experience in your life.
In the introduction, the authors explain that they began writing letters to each other “to preserve and make sense of our daily lives; we wrote to confess and console, to rant and grieve. But more than anything else, we wrote because it was the only way we knew how to pray.”  I think that is why spiritual friendships are so special, because conversations, texts, letters, phone calls, emails, all are moments of prayer because they come from a place of two people sharing their faith in God.
Do any of you have spiritual friends in your life?  Please share how they have helped your faith grow.
2 thoughts on “Spiritual Friendships, Books and Blessings”

  1. I do! In fact, last night she texted me about some wonderful revelations in her day. By the end of our “conversation,” I was crying tears of overwhelming joy–both out of happiness for her, and a realization that the happiness was pure, with no wish on my part for “equal measure.” A first for me. 🙂
    We are constantly amazed at the similar paths we are following lately, and often share the small steps and great strides.

    Like

Leave a Reply

