Choosing Laughs Over Lamentations

This morning, on the way to work, I noticed that I had a huge rip down the seam of my pant leg.  I was mortified.  How could I go to work looking like I did?  In a panic, I searched on my iPhone for a store in the area that opened early, and thankfully, found one.

As I waited for the store to open—I had an hour to kill—I realized that I could react in one of two ways.  I could play the pity card, and sing ‘woe is me’ and lament over my misfortune, or I could laugh at the fact that I ripped my pants.  I decided to laugh about it.  I called my boss to tell him I would be a few minutes late, replaced and put on the new pants, and headed towards the office.

I am not sure, but I bet it was the first time that someone called in late for a “wardrobe malfunction.”  When I got to work, I told a few of my co-workers about my morning mishap with a smile on my face. It felt good to laugh about it.  I think that is the way God would have wanted me to react.  Each day, we are faced with choices, and we can either choose to be happy or sad; we can choose to be a victim or a hero in our daily lives; and we can choose to have faith in God or not.  That’s the beauty of free will.

I know it was a minor incident, and easy to choose happiness and laughter in this instance, but I hope that when faced with other mishaps, I can react the same way.  Have you had a potentially embarrassing experience where you chose to laugh instead of cry?  Please share, your story may help someone out there who is reading this blog today!

Leave a Reply

