Full, But Not Fulfilled

I’ve been eating a lavish breakfast at the diner nearby the offices of Catholic New York every day this week.  It’s a place where the people know me, and they know my order—black coffee, and banana pancakes.  They make me feel welcome.

As I sat in my usual booth, drinking my coffee, my thoughts turned to why exactly I like it at the diner so much.  The answer came to me in an instant—care. As humans, we all like to feel taken care of, and it’s easy to feel that way when someone prepares your food for you, and pays attention to you enough to know when you need a refill on your drink.  Each morning, the usual waiters and waitresses with a cheerful hello greet me. The entire experience is one of comfort and care.

However, when I leave the diner, I may leave with my stomach full, but I am still not fulfilled in the way that I need to be.  The reason is because I am still learning to accept that I can find that same comfort and care in God.  Last night, after a particularly rough day, I turned to my Bible to re-read some passages from St. Paul, specifically the ones he wrote to the Philippians and the Romans.  The words of Paul gave me comfort in a way that no food ever could. It raised my spirits and gave me strength.

I’d like to share one of the passages with you that I particularly took to heart.  It’s from St. Paul to the Philippians 4:12-13 “I know how to be brought low and I know how to abound.  In any and every circumstance, I have learned the secret of facing plenty and hunger, abundance and need.  I can do all things through him who strengthens me.”

Sometimes, we need the care and support of people around, but at all times, we need that care and support from God.  And he gives it to us, without us even having to ask.

What do you think?  Are there needs that you have that you try to fill with food, or other ways, when it is really God that you crave?  Please share; other people may be experiencing the same thing.

Leave a Reply

