Blessings Before Our Eyes

This weekend was a gorgeous one.  With a bright, shining sun perfect for spending time outside enjoying all the beauty of spring days.  I did just that with members of my family—specifically my older brother and sister in law.  I spent the weekend at their house sitting poolside and watching movies with them both.

While we were out to dinner on Saturday night in Connecticut, I realized just how wonderful it could be to spend time with people who love you and accept you.  Due to some family issues, it has been hard for me to connect with certain members of my family.  Perhaps you are going through a similar situation.  Often, I think of the family drama and complications of life that are behind and beside me instead of the blessings that are right in front of me.

Sometimes, when life is difficult—either with family or work issues, or problems with friends, or even problems with addictions or shortcomings we may have, for instance—we forget to take a moment to just live.  This weekend, I did a Bible study with a good Catholic friend of mine where we read part of St. Paul’s Letter to the Corinthians.  One passage stood out for me because it reminded me that when we are faced with hard choices and situations, God always has another option for us.  For me, this weekend, that option was focusing on the loved ones I was spending time with, instead of ruminating about things in my family that I have no control over.

The passage was this, from Corinthians 10:13, “Every test that you have experienced is the kind that normally comes to people.  But God keeps his promise, and he will not allow you to be tested beyond your power to remain firm; at the time you are put to the test, he will give you the strength to endure it, and so provide you with a way out.”

For me, this weekend, the way out was my brother and sister in law and focusing on the time I was spending with them.  In other words, remaining in the moment.

What do you think of the above passage?  Do you feel that God has given you a way out of one of your struggles?  If you are willing, please share.  Maybe your experience will help someone else who is going through the same thing.

4 thoughts on “Blessings Before Our Eyes”

  1. NjD3 – I would answer with a question of my own… why do people continue to cause pain and suffering for each other? I think God has given us the opportunity to choose how we will respond to pain and suffering. We can become defeatist and blame God for all our pain and suffering, or we can thank and praise God for the opportunity to experience his glory, despite the pain and suffering that we may experience. I dont believe that God causes our pain and suffering but is there to offer us a a chance to alleviate some of it by believing in Him.

    I also have to honestly say that I am happy about having the opportunity to make my own choice of how I wil face my own struggles. I absolutely do not believe that God directly puts pain and struggles in front of people. God gave us the gift of free will to make our own choices. With that gift came the downside of people using their free will for evil and it is those people that choose to do evil that cause the majority of pain and suffering in our lives.

    Like

Leave a Reply

